The other day someone asked me to choose one song that I could listen to every day of the week. I struggled to come up with an answer and for the next couple days. I swapped in between a couple of songs. Since you don’t know me, you probably don’t know that my favorite artist is Childish Gambino, without a doubt. I couldn’t pick one of his songs though because I am more of a lyricist fan when it comes to Gambino and I would like to listen to a song that means something to me. If I am going to listen to it everyday, it should give me the warm feeling of content.

I decided on the song Fast Car by Tracy Chapman. This is my favorite song, I think ever. Lyrically this song is easy to understand with a messaged that derives from hope, faith, and a determination to survive. Sometimes I realize that my life is easy. Not easy, but easier than others. I have been given every opportunity to succeed in a world that doesn’t always give opportunities to everyone. This song is one that plainly keeps me going.

So, if you will… Take a listen to Fast Car because it is an awesome, meaningful song. Also, you may want to take a listen to this cover of Fast Car by Boyce Avenue featuring Kina Grannis because they are absolutely awesome.

I had a feeling I could be someone.

Tracy Chapman- Fast Car
Tracy Chapman, Fast Car