My first season-long encounter with the ever so difficult high school basketball team has been more than interesting. Putting the the insanity of a boys high school basketball practice into words is impossible.

I try not to  participate in the “moral victory” nonsense that has overflowed into our countries downfall. (That is completely my opinion… This is my blog after all.) But after the season ending loss that the team I helped coach endured, I plainly can’t help it.

They fought hard. Flashbacks of my collegiate basketball career happen daily. The competitive fear of another team ending your run, your career, and your basketball life happens daily. Even for high schoolers, it can be tough to deal with. I constantly walked into practice thinking about the feeling of defeat, only because that is the last thing I felt about college basketball. Unfortunately, that won’t change.

It will never change. People will never know why it means so much to me, to us. They take it for granted. I realized why people take the sport of basketball for granted as I stood in the locker room staring at these kids who looked exhausted and defeated.

We are always told to live in the moment. Live for right now, yet we find that living in the moment forces us to lose touch with the fact that many things, if not all, come to an end. That is exactly what I wasn’t ready for. I wasn’t ready for basketball, college, lunch with housemates, or a quick run to e-lane, to end. I wasn’t ready at all and now, I am completely enthralling myself in the career that I know for a fact I want.

So, I stopped living in the moment.

Moral victory number 1:  I’m taking chances that I never thought I could be comfortable with. I take chances with the jobs I accept and the people I let walk into my life. That second one has been the key to my moral victory list. And I guess that is what I want these younger Mike Mitchells to know. This is not at all an effort to make them like me. I don’t wan that for them.

Taking chances is the sole reason I am standing in front of 19 high schoolers, preaching to them to make the correct decisions about their college choice, their friend groups, and what hobbies they turn to passions.

I’m not standing in front of them by staying inside my comfort zone, so I am hoping they jump outside of theirs as well.

 

 

 

 

