The only thing that truly interests me about golf is the amount of money they raise for charities annually. (I’ve played golf with my dad before, and I am terrible, so I have much more respect for people who are good golfers.)

In an article by the CEO of The World Golf Foundation Steve Mona, he said The game raises more money for charitable causes than the NFL, NHL, MLB and NBA combined. According to a study conducted by the National Golf Foundation, golf’s charitable impact in 2011 was $3.9 billion.” That is purely amazing to me, but that isn’t what I wanted to write about today. I just figured it was a fun fact that you may want to know.

I recently read, Rory McIlroy Has the Best Swing in Golf, by Charles Siebert in New York Times Magazine. First off, what an amazingly written article. I am a person who doesn’t like golf as much as I like basketball, but I can honestly say that this article had me more interested than any piece about basketball ever did. I couldn’t help but envision McIlroy as a kid, crisply smacking golf balls hundreds down the fairway.

That same kid, who innocently produced an eighty-six in an eighteen-hole round at the age of 8 years-old, now has the opportunity to become the sixth-man to win all four majors. It makes me ponder the thought of these kids becoming stars in what seems to be a couple years. These kids start their commitment to greatness incredibly early. By the time they are in high school, a national spotlight is beaming down on them. National teenage golfer rankings are flying past their heads. What about their childhood though?

This article showed me that I may not have enough appreciation for the commitment golfers make at an early age. Every time I turn around there is another young golf-prodigy breaking records for the “youngest golfer to ever (fill in the blank with something amazing).”

Take a look at the article if you will and learn about the next Tiger Woods. It seems to me that he could be that, and much much more.

Just something to think about.

