(Although I forget who told me this) I remember someone claiming how screwed up our country is right now. I won’t argue that we are the best country in the world, or that we don’t have any problems. I’m arguing that his reasoning is flawed. He explained to me an average working person’s day.

They spend money buying items that help them become more efficient in a job that allows them to buy more items… For example, their car. They pay money to buy a car and while driving to work, the money they use for gas pours out of the tailpipe in pollution-form. They are actually paying money to get to work, so they can make more money.

I answered with, “But that is why I went to college.” I confused him and probably you, so let me explain. I went to college to get an education in a subject that would gain me an opportunity. In all actuality, that is not why I went to college. I explain that in March Madness and Graduate School.  But that isn’t my point! I am completing college with the ability to inspire and be inspired. I hope I have already inspired people along the way, but if I haven’t, my search for a career in student affairs will nudge me in the right direction.

I don’t think I want to work just to make money. Personally, I want to inspire and motivate. I know thats easier said than done, but that is what I want to do.

I haven’t found a foolproof way to do that yet, but I’m doing my best. As long as I am happy doing something I enjoy, everything else is just nonsense. I think this post was me reassuring myself that I went to college and found something that I love, but no I am just rambling.

I love learning, and I hope it stays that way.

