Im sitting in the common room outside Tim Hortons blasting out this blogpost because I am worried about this world a little bit. It feels like I’ve been reading a lifetime-worth of negativity about the way people treat others and more importantly, the lack of respect students show on a day to day basis.

I can’t say that I am friends with everyone on this campus. I do know a good amount of people due to being a public relations major, playing a sport, and anything else I do on campus. I’m just like anyone else though. I like some people and I dislike others, but I am trying my absolute best to swallow this big pill known as my pride.

Do people really think disliking someone and disrespecting someone are synonymous? Well, on the SUNY Plattsburgh campus, it feels like it and that worries me.

Let me tell you about something called empathy. Welcome to my blog, EMPATHY DESERVES A COMEBACK You may not like a certain person or you may not agree with the way they operate, but that is what empathy is for. Personally, I am not a fan of Greek Organizations, but that doesn’t mean I don’t respect the people that have made the choice to join that organization. AT THE LEAST, try to understand. I was an athlete and I don’t expect people to assume that I’m in college to play basketball and scrape by academically, although the assumptions about athletes come in bundles…

See GRAHAM MOORE AND MAKING ASSUMPTIONS. for more information about that nonsense of a conversation that concluded with my blood boiling. Maybe if people try to understand why certain people are a certain way, they might look at them in a more positive light!!

My point is that I don’t have to like you to respect you and it should work the other way around. I don’t know what certain people do in any format and I’m not going to assume that I do just to make myself feel better about my grind. All I’m doing is reaching for success and happiness and if you can’t respect that, give me that dirty look and keep it movin’. I’ll do the same.

Literally, all I ask is that you respect the grind.

