I guess I’ve never thought about it. What makes me happy? Um, food makes me happy. I do like food a lot. But really, I don’t exactly know what makes me truly happy.

I do like to see other people enjoying themselves, but it is deeper than that. I like to see people grow. Maybe that is part of my plan to become an academic advisor on a college campus. I like to see people go from A to Z.

I feel like I myself have come a long, long way. From struggling in high school with academics to graduating college next semester. I’m on my way. People told me I was too stupid for college and too small to play college basketball. I have a game tomorrow, thank you very much. In other words, thanks for the motivation.

Anyway, I’ve never actually thought about what makes me happy. Is it a person? Sometimes, but I was told by an old friend that I have to produce my own happiness in everything that I do. I have to engrave my life with happiness based on the substance in my life rather than the people in it. I am always relying on other people and even though I appreciate it, I would like to stop. So, maybe the opposite is true.

Maybe when people rely on me, I am happier. Whether it is friends, students, teammates, or anyone at that matter, I like to see people with a smile on their face while improving like I know they can. Thats where my friends come in. I don’t always see them during the week and in a weird twisted kind of a way, I love it.

Denis and Luis are making master pieces, Ezra and I are at basketball, Dom and Reid are in the Library, Matt is shooting tv shows, Julian is writing about criminal justice and CJ is working (soon at his internship, congratulations CJ). I don’t see them often and we never seem to skip a beat. I’m happy for them. So I guess that makes me happy, but to answer the question, I don’t know.

I don’t exactly know what makes me happy in general. For now, its my friends and my pursuit. My pursuit for a career that gives me a sense of fulfillment. Not even a fulfilling career but a life in general. Like I said, I’m on my way. I’m not happy right now. Not at all. I’m not depressed, but I am just not happy. I AM however, on my way.

