If you are friends with me on facebook, you have probably noticed my several posts about the Michael Brown investigation. I do apologize if anyone feels I’ve been disrespectful while voicing my opinion. Although I like to be involved in the discussion, I’m not a disrespectful person. I won’t apologize however for voicing my opinion, because that is what I do.

The entire case has frustrated me and of course many other people across the nation, so you can probably relate. This post isn’t to argue whether or not it is self defense or murder. This post is for the adults that are discouraging younger people from posting on facebook about this investigation and the news in general. 

I’ve seen adults tell younger people, “Stick to topics you know something about,” and “Another young ignorant kid trying to get facebook likes.” Personally, I have a huge problem with this. When did some adults start discouraging the interest in politics and the news? Aren’t we supposed to encourage younger people to be involved, have an opinion, derive information from sources, and ultimately create an opinion? Well, that is what I have done. (That includes myself by the way, I am not older yet!)  

I created an opinion and I wanted to share it with my facebook friends in order to gain other perspectives. I didn’t swear at anyone, call them an ignorant idiot, or challenge their intelligence. I understand that not everyone is like that though. People don’t always swerve away from name calling or discouraging people from sharing their opinions. I understand that, but when you find someone that does conduct themselves in a way that isn’t disrespectful, why would you discourage their participation in any debates? 

I’ve learned a couple things in the last two days. My participation in debates with people online shows me why I surround myself with the people I am talking too. Even though the people I have debated with are either family members or good friends, I won’t let it get in the way of our relationship. No one is going to discourage me from posting and debating with my family isn’t going to force a gap in our relationship. I respect the people I have talked to, and I find the more I talk to them the more objective I become in situations like this, even though the Michael Brown case has brought out many emotions. 

I guess my point is that I encourage people to voice their opinion. Voice your opinion because you can’t gain perspectives without reading and hearing other thoughts. If you can’t voice your opinion and try to stay objective on the computer, how will you do the same in person? Either way, facebook and any other social media site is a medium made for your thoughts. If someone can’t take the fact that you want to voice your opinion in whatever subject you decide, then they aren’t worth your time. Fortunately, I have only had that problem once in the past couple of days. 

 

 

