Everyone has something that they fear. Usually if you ask people what they fear they will give a generic answer like spiders, snakes, or heights. I’m not scared of any of those, yet spiders do creep me out a little bit. I’m curious to know what other people are REALLY afraid of though. 

Personally, I am afraid of many things. They are bigger fears than animals or insects though. My biggest fear is not being able to take care of my family. That includes my parents/sister and my future wife and kids. I fear that I will be living paycheck to paycheck. My everyday stressors will be the worry that I can’t pay my mortgage; water bill; electric bill… you get the point. To add onto that, there is college tuition. I won’t even go into the whole college tuition subject though. Oh, and that is in an effort to avoid a nervous break down. 

I’m a senior in college, or at least I am about to be. I am two semesters, ten months, and 30 credits away from graduating and being catapulted into adulthood. My biggest fear is the interviews though. These professional people sit in their comfortable chairs firing questions at me in an effort to make me slip up so they can say, “NEXT” and I’ll slowly get up and do the walk of shame. That is easily my biggest fear; the interview. I fear that I won’t be good enough. I fear that they will see right through the well-rounded student athlete that I think I am and they will see a lazy, procrastinator that spent his college career staying up too late and playing super smash bros. 

All I can do is prepare myself. For the last three years I have been trying to prepare myself for the real world. Have I done an adequate job? I don’t know yet. I will find out when I walk in for my first interview. 

So, what do you fear?

 

