A little background information about me before I begin the actual post. I decided that I was going to attend SUNY Plattsburgh during my second semester junior year of high school. Even though Plattsburgh was the last school that I visited, I felt like I couldn’t go to college anywhere else. Well I could, but I didn’t want to. I graduated high school in 2011 and started attending Plattsburgh after summer concluded. Within the first two months my parents decided to move to Alabama. My reaction was “Why the hell are you moving to Alabama?” I feel like anyone else would have the same reaction. I mean it is Alabama.

Within two months, I moved to a new home, moved in with a weird roommate (Ezra, and he knows he is weird) and changed the scenery of my entire life for the next nine months. To top it all off, when I left for the summer I wouldn’t even be going home. I would be traveling to Alabama to meet more new people, to live in a new home, and to work at a new place with new bosses and new co-workers. Oh shit, my entire life is new! 

And the post begins.

Why was I afraid of changing so much? Probably but I didn’t wan to change. I like my friends, my high school, my quiet-type town (with loud rumors.) I loved it all actually. Actually, if it wasn’t for the non-stop snow during the winter and the extremely high property tax, I would want to raise my kids in New Hampshire. Anyway, I am not sure why I was afraid to move with my family. Besides, moving with your family shouldn’t scare me because it’s not like I don’t know anyone, right? 

I guess moving wasn’t the big deal though. It was the change of scenery. It’s the fact that when I walk into my house, there isn’t a little bench on my left that I can sit on to take off my shoes. It’s the fact that when I tell my friends where I live, I can no longer say, “Where my grandma used to live.” It’s not possible anymore. 

I guess that is my answer then. People are okay with the fact that everything is changing into something new. The scary part is that what you know, or rather knew, is gone. You have to put those memories behind you in an effort to be a productive part of society in the world of change. Within three years, I have moved 4 hours away from home, then 21 hours away from home, met new friends, forgot old friends, gained inspiration from an unlikely candidate, and found the girl I plan to be with for the rest of my life. 

We break through the walls of adversity every day. From the death of a best friend, an eating disorder, or a fall that leaves us handicapped, we break through the walls of adversity every day.

And to think that even for a second, we are afraid of a little change. 

