I fully support political debates. I think it keeps people interested in what is going on around them, although finding a source that isn’t biased is extremely tough for me. (Personally) So, I usually stay out of political debates, usually… I have a problem with people who scroll through twitter or facebook and fire up political debates in which they have no good information on the topic. 

For example, people have showed haste for Chick-Fil-A because of Dan Cathy (Founder of Chick-Fil-A, Truett Cathy’s son’s) explanation on gay marriage. Here are the facts. Chick-Fil-A has donated money to anti-gay Christian organizations who lobby for anti-gay marriage legislators. They don’t hide it. They have received the most attention in recent years because of Dan’s statements to an interviewer. That is his/their belief and they have every right to do with their money as they please. ALTHOUGH I DO NOT AGREE with this belief, I support his right to fight for what he believes is right. So, I present to you my problem with everyone else

All these people bash him and in turn decide that they will boycott Chick-Fil-A and all of their restaurants. They swear to the public that they will never eat their food because their beliefs are wrong and hateful. I’m completely fine with your opinion. Actually, I support that you are willing to give your opinion on such a complex topic, but what about other companies? You need to start following your mind instead of the media. Do your research. If you are going to put one business under the microscope, you have to cover your tracks with the items you purchase. 

What about Yum! brands? How about David Novak who donates to evangelical churches and even aided in sending busloads of people to the Kentucky Legislator to lobby for anti-gay amendments? Again, I support his right to donate and believe in what he chooses, even if I DON’T BELIEVE along with him. Yum! brands is responsible for Taco Bell, KFC, Pizza Hut and A&W Restaurants, so put them all under the microscope. If you have to boycott all of these business, do it. If not, you are the hypocrite that throws boycott tweets on twitter at businesses such as Chick-Fil-A, yet you support the businesses that are sitting next to them. They may not be donating to the same churches but they are donating to the same concept. 

Either way, educate yourself and stop being hypocrites. You can’t just put one business under the microscope without sounding like a hypocrite or a troll. I have no problem with fighting for your beliefs by holding back money from franchises, but don’t be a hypocrite.

Plus if you haven’t had a Chick-Fil-A chicken sandwich with some polynesian sauce, you are missing out on something great. 

