My past year in college was one that I focused on nonprofit organizations. I (was) set on non-profit organization public relations as my future career. Even though that has changed there is nothing wrong with it. Anyway, because I love non-profits and contributing to them when I can, I wanted to run a charity event. I wanted to do it myself, but not for myself. After speaking with a local food shelf, The Joint Council of Economic Opportunity for Clinton and Franklin Counties, I found out that they needed personal care items. You know, soap, shampoo, razors, shaving cream etc. So, I made a plan to help them out.

I began collecting ‘prizes’ which would be raffled off at one of my basketball games. I received a school sweatshirt and three gift cards from local restaurants. I thought these prizes would be appealing to the audience that I chose to target. Then, I had to make some rules for the raffle. See, because the JCEO needed personal care items, I needed an incentive for people to donate. The prizes were that incentive.

The most important rule was, the more personal care items you brought in to the December 3rd Plattsburgh basketball game, the more raffle tickets you received. That was the main incentive. The more personal care items you brought in, the better chance you have to receive prizes. Plus, the proceeds go directly back to the surrounding communities. Your friends and maybe even your family. I made a facebook for the charity event and even got onto my school’s local television station.

To make a long story short, the charity event raised 426 personal care items and over 400 dollars through donation. I couldn’t be happier with the result of the charity event. I will be running the same event this upcoming semester. It is something that makes me happy and gives me the feeling that I have helped. To this day, it is the greatest accomplishment of my life.

 

