If I am ever blessed with the opportunity to have a child, it will be the happiest day of my life. I’ve heard some fathers agree that it is definitely the happiest and most emotional day of their lives. I can’t imagine the feeling and for now I will wait to do so. Maybe I am the only one, but sometimes I imagine what my future kids will be like. Most likely short because that runs in my family, but will they be athletic, sports-playing kids like myself? Only time will tell.

Sometimes I feel as if everyone played sports when we were kids. Of course the competitiveness of sports was much lower. It was all about having fun. But things change as you get older. We all know that. Elementary school turns to middle school which turns to high school. Sports evolve from a fun hobby to a competitive lifestyle… When you only do something for specific results, it can become more of a job than a hobby. And just for the record, how many people like to work? This is where college comes into play. College presents a different problem, if you choose to look at that way.

To begin with the negatives about participating in a college sport, there is the time conflict. One of the best opportunities students have is to be an Resident Assistant (Some schools call it an R.A and some a C.A or community advocate). I had the chance to be a community advocate for one semester. Unfortunately, my coach was telling me he needed more from me especially getting people focused on the weekends. On the other hand, my resident director told me she needed me to be available during weekends more often. How could I be available during weekends if I was on an 8-hour bust trip to Buffalo State from on Thursday, and wouldn’t return until Sunday. There are just too many things that student-athletes miss out on. They miss seminars, networking events and charity events, but that is just the beginning of it.

One of the advantages of playing a collegiate sport is you have a friend-base as soon as you arrive at college. You have a group of people that you can spend almost every second of every day with. You don’t need to depart from your comfort zone in an effort to meet other people and make lifelong friends. You practically have those friends chosen for you. You grow when you are outside your comfort zone. If you don’t ever have to leave your comfort zone, you will forever be unprepared.

That is why I don’t want my kids to play a college sport. 

Some may think student-athletes will learn to be structured individuals. They have to turn assignments in early because of road trips, schedule study halls and library time around practice and games. This is all true, but most student-athletes have their schedules set for them. It starts with breakfast, class, workout, lunch, class and then practice. They have everything scheduled for them. As a non-student-athlete, you do not have that luxury. You don’t have a coach who will set you up with a tutor. You don’t have regular meetings with your assistant coach to track progress. I want my kid to learn themselves. They have to learn to set their priorities, schedule their own time and set up their own tutors. This is a tool that if learned throughout college, it could propel you into the real world with flying colors.

That is why I don’t want my kids to play a college sport.

The reasons go on and on. What career can you name that has scheduled workouts for you so you can stay in shape? I can’t think of one besides a professional sport. If you don’t have a workout scheduled for your lunch break in the real world, why prepare yourself for it in college? College is for preparation. You need to make it realistic as possible. Students should find their time to work out on their home. They should learn to fight off pounds added on by beer and late night pizza. If they can find time to stay in shape, study, socialize and volunteer in college… There is no reason they can’t do it in the real world. There are a million and one reasons why being a student athlete is detrimental to the success of a young professional. And in case you were wondering…

That is why I don’t want my kids to play a college sport.

