“When nothing seems to help, I go and look at the stonecutter hammering away at his rock, perhaps 100 times without so much as a crack showing in it. Yet at the 101st blow it will split in two, and I know it was not that blow that did it, but all that had gone on before.” -Jacob Riis

I was introduced to this quote by my basketball coach this past year. I have officially fell in love with its meaning and the way it speaks to me. He used this quote in the context of a “basketball marathon.” As some of you may know, college basketball has one of the longest seasons paired with some weird breaks in between. We began our season in late October and would finish by losing in the Sweet 16 of the NCAA tournament. Our season wasn’t a sprint. It was a marathon. We had to keep going even when we felt like there was no progress in our sights. We didn’t stop after injuries filled our roster. We didn’t stop after we lost the championship because we knew there was something ahead. We knew that it wasn’t that last game that got us into the NCAA tournament. It was the sprints, practices and workouts that came before.

